Please Allow Me To Introduce Myself...

John P.

Hi, I am John Pilkington from a small village near Doncaster in South Yorkshire in the UK. As you can probably guess I have just joined "the Path". I have a confession to make, I have been engraving on metal for a full 4 days, I picked up my very first push graver on Friday and today is Monday; so to say that I am new to the ways of carving is a bit of an understatement.

My main area of interest is actually not engraving at all (please do not hold this against me, all will become clear), I repair and would like to start making clocks. Now I am not talking about the type of clock that you stick a battery in, I am talking about real clocks; little time engines many of which can be a hundred or more years old and with just a little bit of attention carry on telling time and will do so for years.

But before I loose you all please allow me to get to the point. I want to begin making clocks from old materials, clock movements that are over 120 years old are very easy to aquire, however quite often their cases have long since decayed. I want to build cases for these time machines but instead of using new timber I would like to use wood that is recycled from broken furniture that is also over 100 years old. But I do not want to make reproduction clocks and try to pass them off as old (something that has been known to happen). I have an idea for a series of clocks that show off their movements... and finally he gets to the point... I would like to engrave the brass plates (the front and back of the movement) to make them more aesthitically pleasing, as the movement will be clearly visible through the dial of the clock.

However, this plan has a number of possible flaws, and the biggest is that I do not know how to engrave, but I want to learn.

Unfortunatly I am no longer in employment (but that is another story) so I have plenty of time and I want to learn.