I Bow My Head In Awe Before You

Michiel

My name is Michiel and I am living in some forgotten and sleepy little valley in the Alps of Austria. I am working at the University of Graz, developing Software and the infrastructure for online-assessments - quite boring actually. To easy my head on November 1st. 2010 I started carving - I robbed a bone from our dog and began a Möbius-loop - some kind of representation of the way I felt at that time. Of course it didn´t become a real Möbius-loop - which was quite disappointing - but doing this work made me feel REALY good - so I started the next one and ever since it went on. Carving now for about 1,5 years I still consider myself as a absolute beginner, but looking into the www for some inspiration and advice I found a whole new world, stuffed with wonders of craftsmanship, patience, accuracy, design and things I could not believe they were made by humans. Having a full-time-job, I can’t spend so much time carving as I liked to, but still I got some experience carving wood, bone, stone, metal and plastics. I like to work with chainsaws and also as a blacksmith - sharing this with my brother who is a gifted gunsmith. (http://www.lechner-jungl.com)

Some of my works:

post-3239-0-95819100-1332335626.jpg

óne of my early hooks

post-3239-0-04132300-1332334186.jpg

My first Koru made of afrikan water buffalo horn.

post-3239-0-64854300-1332334363.jpg

... also made from water buffalo horn. (nice to wear , because its allmost weightless)

On a little trip to buy some wine i found a stone wiche turned out to be Serpentin.

post-3239-0-22999200-1332334574.jpg

I really fell in love with this material. It is allmost like Jade, but some inklusions are hard like iron, so one has really to work very carefully to get a nice and flat surface.

post-3239-0-97897800-1332334702.jpg

a hook i made from this stone

post-3239-0-04067000-1332334808.jpg

... and while playing arround with it ...

post-3239-0-67056000-1332334933.jpg