Woolly Celtic Knot

Carl R.

I am an utterly novice whittler recently bitten by a carving bug. I have been practicing by carving a celtic knot into a block of basswood, one panel to a side. I have been unable to get rid of the woolly appearance of the interstices and some of the junctions of the cord, even though I've used knives (carving knife, palm cutters, micro tools), dremel with various bits (carbide, diamond, small grinders, sanders), and needle files.

I have not used a denture brush, which I've seen mentioned for basswood by a figure carver. I wonder about spraying on a coat of sanding sealer or polyurethane to get some hardness to cut down the fibers. I have also wondered about a set of dental picks that I've misplaced that I'd like to sharpen and get down into the holes and crannies. I'm wondering if I shouldn't have used pear wood to start with.

With the marvelous and amazing productions in here I'm sure someone can give me advice.

Thanks,

Carl R.

post-3246-0-58592700-1337636238.jpg

Hi Carl,

You might want to check out the who's who subforum for your first post...

Anyway, welcome around. As Janel said, sharp tools are the answer to your question especially with a soft wood like basswood, but you can also use scrapers to get a smooth finish. But then you will have to make them yourself or check out the palm scrapers made by flexcut, I don't use or own them but they are the smaller one I ever saw on the market.

Hope this help

Christophe

Thanks Janel and Christophe. I strop as I'm carving but now I recognize that the mushing of the fibers is definitely an indication of not-sharp-enough. I have plane irons that I've gotten to shaving-sharp, I just need to do that with my little tools.