New Australian Member

SueB

Hello Everyone, I have just joined up and want to introduce myself. I am looking forward to being inspired to greater carving from all your wonderful talent I have seen here.

I am a recently retired Art Teacher and dean of the Visual Art department. I have sculpted in Clay, wood and other media for amny years but not so much in small format. I have decided that smaller will be better as I can take it with me on my travels around this great country when I am fossicking for rocks.

I am a keen fossicker and I also work with glass and paint a bit so like to go where the muse takes me. Isn't retirement just wonderful? :D I wake up in the morning and think to myself now what will I do today? And there is always something. :wub:

I recently brought a small cottage with a shop attached in South Western Victoria not far from the Great Ocean Road and I have renovated the shop into my studio with a small gallery at the front. I live in a small village of a dozen homes so am not planning on more than a few exhibitions or open studios a year , that way I get to travel , to 'play, and to share my work when I want to and not be tied to opening hours.

My subject matter is mainly natural/organic forms in a a impressionistic manner.Most of my images are way over the limit for this forum so I will have to begin a new file with reduced size pics sometime soon.

This is one of my fun found object sculptures. head and base are carved in Redgum.

post-3324-0-91250000-1341011862.jpg

Hi SueB

Welcome from Tamworth NSW AU, great to have another Aussie here, more the merrier, I carve most gemstones, but would say jade and chrysoprase are my favorites, I also love fosicking, my area is a treasure house of gems. Jade, rhodonite, prase, just to name a few, went rock hounding in the Nundle area today, hope to see more of your work.

Cheers michael B