Hello, And Help?

Beck

Hi all,

I'm from Adelaide, South Australia and I have had absolutely no carving experience what so ever. Most of my craftiness comes in the form of fabric crafts or drawing (kinda).

I was playing a game of THUD (similar to chess, and for those who don't know of it, ask and I will tell you the whole story of the game) and I suddenly got it into my head that surely I can make my own set! I scouted around, and as I love history, the old bone game pieces naturally drew my attention. Plus I love the warmth and polish that bone and ivory can develop (as seen in netsuke). So while searching for information I found this forum.

Now, as I said, I have no carving experience at all (unless you count sharpening paddlepop sticks on concrete when I was in primary school) so I wouldn't know where to start! I have ruled out the standard long bones however, as they're hollow and don't seem suitable for solid chess pieces.

So! Is there any advice people can give me as to what bone/material would be suitable and from where (on the animals) and how would I even remotely get started? Please?

Hi Beck. In Australia, I would imagine your only options are deer antler or mammoth ivory. They would give you the desired mass and shape that the game pieces would require. Although the antler is poros in the middle, so could cause you some problems. Mammoth ivory would be perfect but is rather expensive for good quality. Other materials that are suitable would simply be illegal to get into Australia. You could source some hippo tusk with the right paperwork, but is a bit harder and may take some carving. Any whale teeth come ashore down your way?

But material is only the start of things. It takes many years of practice to become a good carver. I can only suggest you try and get some cheap materials, and some tools to get you started. Use the forum for advice and perhaps a book to help you on your way.

Good luck, Billy.