Sign in to follow this  
Alexa D.

Hello, World!

I'm a botanical technician living in Idaho. A few years back, while studying abroad in New Zealand, I took a course on Maori bonecarving; the process and results were both incredibly satisfying. Back in the US, I gathered the tools and started carving on my own. I've been working off and on (mostly off, to be honest) since 2010.

I mostly work in tagua nut these days -- bone dust is harder to deal with in my three-room flat, and I can't buy the cat a dust mask, so I can only use bone or antler when it's warm enough to carve outside. Lately I've begun developing my own style and moving away from the Maori symbols that shaped my early work. (The tree silhouettes carved out of tagua slices are beautiful, fun to carve, and popular at the occasional craft sale, and they don't risk cultural appropriation.)

Here are a few photos of recent pieces (they're thumbnails -- click to enlarge). All are tagua; the dimes are for scale.

treevi2small.th.jpg treev2small.th.jpg pebbledheimatau2small.th.jpg boundkoru1small.th.jpg swishsmall.th.png

I'm looking forward to meeting the people of The Carving Path, learning from your experience, and maybe helping someone in turn. Can't wait to get started!

i like your desighns the two tree shaped sihouettes remind me of coral perhaps you might want to look into looking at under water plants. what tools do you use? have you invested in some kind of buffing set up? i think you might like to use felt buffers to bring your work to a higher shine.

Water plants? That's a thought. Not much of that in Idaho, though. ;) I've been looking at the twisted shapes of gnarled juniper and sagebrush wood lately -- they are inspiring.

I rough the pieces out with a jeweler's saw and a small dremel tool; refine them with smaller dremel bits, needle files, and a chip-carving knife; and finish them with several grits of sandpaper.