Pink Ivory Wood

Ed Twilbeck

I just got some pink ivory wood . Has any carved this? I am looking for info on how to show the pink more and highlight the grain. What finish did you use ?

Any one has any idea on how to make it more ,,,(Pink) ?

The first carving will be a dragonfly pendant for a necklace.

Hi Ed,

I worked only one time with a small piece that I made into a knife handle and a small bead, so I am no expert but here is how I did.

It is a beautiful but really hard wood. I push the sanding to 2000 grit but I think if I had to rework with it, I would probably push 'til 4000 maybe more, to really achieve a nice glossy polish (that will highlight the pink) . For the finish I use a mix of beeswax and colza oil. It has aged to a more reddish colour but I'm also using the knife in environment which are quite dirty so...For the bead, so far it is still a nice pink colour.

Hope this help.

Good luck with your project and keep a sharpening device close ;)

ok from what i found out it dulls tool fairly quickly so sharpen often and finishes i was told anything you will use for ebony, rosewood ect.....

this is what i was told for price It used to be one of the rarest woods in the world. $125 a pound, that translated to $375 a board ft in the early 1980's. I got a 6" x 1" x 2" piece with a crack in it for $25

Hi Ed,

PInk Ivory wood can be fun to work with. The long term downside is that with exposure to light and air, the reds/pinks fade away to brown tones. :( That has been frustrating. I don't believe that there is any coating or finish that will keep that from happening, though I don't know everything about what is available.