Hi, I'm Rebecca

Rebecca S

Hi. My name is Rebecca Schiffman.

I am a jewelry designer and wax carver and am looking to get into a few other modes of carving. I recently relocated from my hometown New York City to live with my boyfriend in Los Angeles and I have a little studio set up in our garage.

WHAT I DO

Wax carving: I have been carving wax models for my own jewelry designs for a few years and have recently started freelance model making for other jewelry companies. My wax carving "guru" is my former teacher (and current teacher when I visit NYC) Fred de Vos. http://freddevos.com/ I mostly carve wax using dental tools and burs but Fred also taught me to shape hard wax on a mill and lathe to create the starting "blank" on which I am going to carve to have a more precise starting point. I am now saving up to buy a little Sherline mill and lathe for my studio but am pretty intimidated since I used to always have to ask him to help me set it up.

My recent jewelry collections have been based on architectural ornament, I try to recreate designs on older buildings in wax.

WHAT I WANT TO TRY

I guess if I list what I want to do here, now it's out there and I better get to it so I'm not all just talk! Any encouragement or beginner project ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Stone/bone carving: I've never carved a gemstone, rock, or bone but would like to. I just went to a great exhibition at the Bowers Museum in Santa Ana called "Gems of the Medici" that showcased ancient Roman and Italian Renaissance era cameos that was very inspiring.

Hobo Nickels: I'm not sure if anyone on this site is into this but it looks really fun.

http://en.wikipedia....iki/Hobo_nickel

Cylinder Seal: http://en.wikipedia....i/Cylinder_seal

Tools: I am very interested in gaining and sharing knowledge about tool use and demistifying tools I am intimidated by.

Looking forward to learning from this community.

-Rebecca

www.rebeccaschiffmanjewelry.com