Hello, I'm Clark And New Here To This Group

Clark E

Hi, I’m Clark and new to this group and wanted to introduce myself. I’m a ceramic artist and began working in clay back in the early 1970’s while in college. I've was introduced into jade by my wife, she has had a passion for jade for many years and in China has had tremendous access because of work and friends. I have been on a crash course for the last 7 years or so, meeting artists, seeing studios and looking at jade... tons of jade of all types, most of it really good stuff. I learned a lot, but also have a very lot to learn. My exposure to carving is almost exclusively from China. Most of my friends carve jade and some carve other materials, one of my friends is best known for his ice carving and he is responsible for a large project in northern China each year where they create a small city in ice, I also have pictures of a large ice carving project he did at the Astro Dome in Huston. He is living and teaching in the SF bay area and we are planning to do some ceramic artwork together, I’ll throw some forms for him and he wants to paint and carve the outside. These are a few pictures of my ceramic art and one in progress I started about a year ago and have stalled on. You can see a little more of my work and work from my friends and some studios on my web site www.thejadedealer.com. I will also post more pictures that I hope you find interesting, soon.

Tea pot with carved koi fish.

post-3726-0-58648400-1375338523.jpg

This is stoneware 34 inches tall thrown and altered.

post-3726-0-94115800-1375338581.jpg

Raku fired 36 inches tall thrown and altered

post-3726-0-84905100-1375338688.jpg

This bowl is around 5 inches tall cone 10 under glaze decoration

post-3726-0-01988300-1375338739.jpg

Something I started a while back, the figures were formed from the inside while wet and carved on the outside for detail.

post-3726-0-92876600-1375338782.jpg

Clark