Aceton In Vacuum

Stephan A

Greetings artisans, Has anyone stabilized stone using the 330 epoxy/acetone mix IN A VACUUM? Opticon is fairly expensive seems to have problems with tackiness and fouling tools. I like the idea of the epoxy/acetone stabilizer but would like feedback on whether the vacuum would help with impregnation. The waterglass adherents rely on the vacuum, if I'm reading the method correctly , to open up the fractures or crazing in gems and minerals allowing deeper penetration of the stabilizing agent. I'm a real novice at working with stone and have been selecting softer materials while I learn the correct tools for carving and polishing. I had one successful project adding marble/travertine scales to a folding knife. My last two attempts using ricolite have not been very good. I do have a background in building fine cabinetwork and musical instruments so I'm not forcing the tools or banging the stone around. I can only go up from here but I do think stabilizing will help hold the material together through cabbing, drilling etc. My next project will be a folding knife with ruby in fuchsite scales. But will hold until I can sort out the stabilization enigma. So how bout it? Any one tried the acetone in vacuum, will I vaporize and become a poster boy for stupid lapidary tricks? Any help is greatly appreciated thanks

Stephan,

Welcome to the forum. I just read all of your posts and will do my best to be of some help.