My Month In Jade

Tom A.

Hi Everyone,

I am participating this year in the World Jade Symposium and since I have little experience with Jade I needed to practice! The attached pieces are what I have managed to create in the past month.

I continue to struggle with the polish on all these pieces. Although its getting better with each piece - I am chasing the "water wet" look but continue to fall short.

I carve/create in a bit of a bubble and would appreciate any constructive criticism on what you see.

There are only two types of Jade represented here. Dease Creek (spoon & 5 rings) & Yukon (two rings, ring on finger & knife)

Thanks

Tom

post-2995-0-43820100-1407501280.jpg

post-2995-0-27026700-1407501291.jpg

post-2995-0-25414300-1407501306.jpg

post-2995-0-42666300-1407501322.jpg

post-2995-0-80459500-1407501339.jpg

Yeah mate looks good. The rings and knife look great, the spoon is a bit wonky but the design is great. I get orange peel everytime unless I prepolish with dry 600 or 1200 grit silicon carbide sandpaper. As soon as I add water the high and low spots appear again. I havent tried with dry 1200 diamond sandpaper but thats how Donn Salt does the prepolish. I got from stones @ 1200 or diamond sandpaper @600 to 600 or 1200 silicon carbide. Takes a while and use a handlense to look at the surface and keep sanding till there is no holes. From there I polish from 3000 up with diamond, again look at every stage for scratches and keep going till they are gone. I do that till 50000-100000. If you still get orange peel then go back to the 600/1200 and keep sanding.

Look forward to seeing your symposium piece :)

Thanks Bruce - Those are new for me and I really enjoyed making them so I imagine I will have quite a few more coming!! Lots of possibilities with the rings.