Sign in to follow this  
ben h

Hello

Hi guys. My name is Ben. I've been carving bone for a few months. Mainly necklaces. Would love any feedback and suggestions you guys can offer. Thanks

post-3887-0-87386900-1408666743.jpg

post-3887-0-89496600-1408666824.jpg

post-3887-0-64856400-1408666876.jpg

Hi Ben,

Welcome. I hope that you will learn good things here.

I'd like to gently remind you, and other members, to resize your images to fit the guidelines pinned to the top of each forum topic area. Good tips here: http://www.thecarvingpath.net/forum/index.php?/topic/2388-resizing-your-photos-for-the-forum/

I will preface my comments by saying that I carve wood and not bone, but have found bone to be a delightful material to put my tools to. Regarding staining of bone, I have no experience. My comments will be more about carving in general, and may at first sound harsh when reading the words that I write. My statements are meant as encouragements to learn, to push your skills to go beyond the tentative beginning steps seen in the above images.

What I first see in the second and third images (the first one is too blurry), the knife and spear point, are edges that I assume are supposed to be straight. Instead, I see jagged, irregular lines everywhere. Lines meant to be straight should be just that, as well as curved lines that are intended to be smooth curves should be just that and not irregular and indecisive. I see lines that are likely only made with power tools with no finishing or attention to the edges or details. And, the spear point has a crack that show dramatically if stain is applied.