Sharpen Your Tools

Janel

My technique for sharpening has been another self-taught skill, which I think I must be doing right some of the time and wrong a lot of the time. There must be some carvers here who have more knowledge than I and could teach the rest of us some good sharpening habits.

Janel

:D

I guess I'll add my two cents worth... After four years I've come to see that properly sharpened blade edges make all the difference with carving. A sharp blade cuts the wood fibers rather than tearing them and leaves its own quality of finish that abrasives have a hard time matching. This is the chief reason why I am opposed to rotary cutters- there are some router bit-type pieces which will cut, but most just grind the wood down, leaving a very tired surface. I've notice that even following a cutter with a blade can still give mixed results as I feel that the wood gets bruised 1/16-1/8" beneath its surface. If you have to take more than that thickness off, maybe you should've just used a blade to begin with :)

Also, a very sharp blade will allow you to get away with approaching the wood from a number of angles- against the grain, cross grain, etc. A dull knife will catch in any direction other than with the grain.

I recently ordered some man-made water stones as well as honing compound and am now learning what a sharp blade really is.

As carvers on a small scale with small tools (often just 1/16 of an inch) we have unique sharpening problems. Honing jigs just won't fit such small tools, leaving us to resort to shaping a bevel by hand. For my small chisels (largely of the Dockyard sort) I've learned to hold the tool in such a way on the stone that my three fingers (middle thru pinkie) glide across the stone's surface and are held in a rigid fashion ensuring the angle on the blade bevel stays the same.