Images not recognized

Janel

I am a self-taught user of Photoshop CS and Dreamweaver MX 2004. The last web site I completed, and the current one being worked on, experienced and are experiencing failures to recognize the JPEG and GIF images that were saved for the web and placed on the pages. With the last site to be loaded, the SysOp finally found that permissions (something to that nature) were turned off on a portion of the images in the image folder. I worked on all of the images one at a time, in a repetitive and similar procedure, to prepare them for the web site, 2/3s of the images were not recognized. Now, with the current site, the images are not even being recognized by the test browser when a page linked to another page links back to it, before even being uploaded to the server.

I am frantic to solve this! The last job I ate two days (no pay) while trying to resave and rework the pages/images with the troubles. Obviously I do not yet know enough! Now, I've spent another day on the current site (which by the way is a donation to a local music booster club).

Is there something that I might have done to the Photoshop editing process to subvert my efforts? Is there something simple that I should do? I have not tried trashing the application and reloading it. I am using an iMac G5, OS X 10.3.8.

Thanks for any help with this

i am working on adding pics to my site with dreamweaver3. it almost sounds like the photos have not been actually added to the rough webpage. after placing the photo to the page you need to click the cursor off the picture and then click enter .maybe you are doing it right,but i found several that i thought were locked to the page not actually there.

Thanks Dan, but when I click the cursor off the picture and then click enter, inside or outside the table I get a

, and that is unnecessary code on the page. (I checked and double checked just to be sure.