Hi from Perth Australia!

Brokk

Hi I'm Brokk Svendsen.
Apparently I had joined this forum 10 years ago! I forgot I was a member but I still have the same email so I was able to get a new password.

I've been carving for about 15 years, solidly for the past 7-8 or so. I'm 32 years old.
I live in Perth Western Australia, born and raised, though both of my parents come from Minnesota USA.
My grandfather ('Pop') inspired and taught me to carve and we're members of the Wandi woodcarvers guild.
I teach beginners with Pop twice a month for the guild (1st and 3rd saturdays of each month) and I find that teaching helps oneself to learn as well, after awhile carving techniques that you use become second nature, but to describe them and show to to someone else makes you really think about and analyse what you're doing.

I like natural sort of organic forms, I'm a big fan of japanese art in general and in particular netsuke.
I generally carve small pieces, no bigger than (and usually smaller than) about a fist (with a few exceptions of course)
I was first introduced to netsuke by none other than Sue Wraight when our guild was lucky enough to have her give a workshop (many years ago now)

At some point soon I'll take some photos of what I like to carve and post them on the forum, unfortunately I'm not great with a camera.

• 2 weeks later...

Welcome Brokk,

Where in MN did your parents come from?  I live in MN.

How fortunate you were to have a little time with Susan Wraight!  What an inspiration that must have been to have her give a workshop to your carving group.  And, good experiences all around for teaching carving with your Pop! 

Ed:  I am glad to see you have recovered!  Welcome back to you!

Janel

Hi Janel, thank you.

I'm not 100% sure what parts they come from but I believe Duluth and Brainerd have been mentioned in the past. I know they had a cabin by a lake but I doubt that narrows it down any.