Bon jour mes amie! just joined in...

Jacques Vesery

my name is Jacques Vesery.... some of you know me and I'm glad to see names I know as well.

here's my bio. , etc. and some recent pieces;

Jacques is an Artisan from Damariscotta, Maine, creating wood art pieces. Striving to evoke the spirit of nature in his work, Jacques is greatly influenced by the source of his medium, the living tree and the great circle which is life. After serving as a submariner in the Navy, he became a scrimshander in Hawaii and later, Cape Cod. He then served as a forest ranger and forest fire warden in northern New Jersey. A self taught artist, Jacques now works in wood, a more sustainable and environmentally sound medium. Currently, Jacques is a member of the American Association of Woodturners and serves on the Professional Outreach Program's Advisory committee. He is also a contributing editor for the American Woodturner Magazine. In addition, he teaches, lectures on design and demonstrates his techniques throughout the US and abroad. In his free time he enjoys hiking, ice skating, kayaking, cooking and gardening. Jacques, his wife Minda Gold, and their sons Isaac and Jonah enjoy living, working, and playing in Maine, the way life should be.

from the essays of the Surface + Form Exhibit, Perth, Australia

Jacques Vesery's richly carved vessels participate in the great decorative arts tradition of obets de vertue- confections of craft skill and rich material that have little point other than their fabulousness. Vesery's precursors are not necessarily to be found in the woodturning movement, but rather in the deluxe playthings of the wealthy: Faberge' eggs, Meissen porcelain cups and the like. Though some of the materials are the most obvious touches of luxury, the small scale of his objects are the real key to their sense of preciousness....

descrptions;

1] "The Enigma From Within" 2006 2.5" x 2.2" D carved/ textured cherry, 22kt gold leaf, with carved amber gemstone 30mm x 14mm