hello from the pacific northwest

magnus homestead

post-239-1149958998.jpgpost-239-1149959028.jpgpost-239-1149959073.jpgpost-239-1149959795.jpg

Hello All,

I came across this site a few weeks ago and am delighted. All of your wonderfull works and your sharing energy are indeed a blessing to the world.

I have been a jeweler for 32 years so as to make a living, but I feel I am a carver at heart. I only recently discovered netsuke and am moving in that direction.

I have enclosed some photos of my last two jewelry pieces. I hope to have a sculptural carving done soon.

I'm so glad to be a part of this site.

In Love and Light,

Magnus

P.S. my wife and I live in the Columbia Gorge area of Washington State, US

Hello Magnus! Welcome to The Carving Path!

Thank you for your introduction and the photos of your work. It is a pleasure to see what you are doing and I look forward to your explorations with what you hope to be doing.

Would you be willing to describe the work you presented in the above photos? Materials, technical approach, any mythology related to the images? Are any particular cultural influences appearing in your work?

Is the piece with the carved/pierced green material made of wax or stone?

Thank you all for such a warm welcome!

Janel,