What is Gouge Chip Carving?

Sean

My name is Sean Schwendinger from Springfield, Missouri. I am a sales engineer who was in need of a hobby other than my wife and two wonderful children. I meet Russ Hewitt at a flea market/antique store and he was demonstrated - Gouge Chip Carving. When I saw it, I thought his work was so beautiful and after the 15 second demonstration he did on the technique, I was hooked. I will try to explain as well as I can for you here. You might want to see my album to see my work that I have done in the last 4 months.

Gouge chip carving uses 5 tools, well 6 if you include your hands, which consist of 4 different size gouges (palm style) and a mallet. See picture for 4 gouge sizes. With these tools one has 2 cuts - the vertical cut (a cut produced with the gouge hit by the mallet to make the single lines) and chip which is used to give a vertical cut 'body" such as in pinwheels, the seed look on flowers, etc. (Now you see why it takes 15 seconds for a demo because once you know those 2 cuts, you are ready for GCC) There are 5 basic designs one learns and with those you can produce an unlimited variety of carvings. These designs are flower, vine, snowflake, pinwheel and diamond.

Janel asked me:

What sort of tools do you use? See above

Do you have photos of them? post-255-1153333165.jpg

Do you build the boxes? We are pretty lucky that Russ Hewitt sells the boxes at a nice cost since he buys it bulk for the "club" and we do our work and assemble the boxes. This carving method is good for accenting projects such as wood workers making furniture, etc. A few of my pieces are commercial items such as the cutting board... $2.96 cutting board at Wal-Mart or a picture frame we had at home (this is not posted yet because it is in an Expo).