Hello From Tennessee

Joe Aimetti

Hello all-

Looks like after a few glitches, I am finally in the system and can post. I just wanted to introduce myself as a new member to the forum.

I am almost 53 years old and I have been involved in some kind of Art related endeavor just about all my life. I started drawing, painting, then went 3-D to clay. About that time I was old enough to use some tools, found out real quick how sharp a dry wall razor knife can be when trying to whittle down a toothpick ( I was 8 0r 9 and cannot remember why I wanted to whittle a tooth pick , unless I was already thinking miniature..) I still have the scar on my left hand for that one. I learned how to use knives well enough to cut more wood than my hand and started an off and on life long experience with wood carving.

I have always been fascinated with small works of art. My grandmother's cameo necklace was amazing to me and i have tried to duplicate it in several mediums. I bought my first Dremmel tool at 11 and have never been without them ( I own 4 now). I enjoy making things myself like knives, simple tools and such. I find that the skills I learn in one hobby have a use in another.

I am attempting wooden model boat construction at present and building a schooner called the Bluenose 2. I want to decorate it with small carvings, which brings me to this site. I would like to hone my skills in carving or modeling very small to accomplish this decorating feat. I would also like to continue in small carvings even after the boat is completed.

Take care

Joe Aimetti

Kingsport, TN

Welcome Joe. Please let us see the ship carvings when you get there.

Hi Jim-