Sources for tools

Carvewright

Hi all! I have been doing extensive relief carving for over five years now, usually bigger pieces. I now have a commission for 8 36"x42" door panels, each depicting a religious scene. In these panels I am doing a lot of small faces, and even smaller hands, feet, etc., and am quickly discovering that I need HELP with tools and techniques for this type of carving. So thought I'd turn to those of you who have been doing the small carvings and see if you had any suggestions. Specific questions:

1) is there a good source for the very small gouges and v-toos (less than 1mm)?

2) Is there a place to go for good descriptions of how to make small specialty tools?

By the way, all the panels will be done in mahogany (no choice there)

Thanks in advance for the conversation.

Richard Wright

Hi Richard, I'll take your query as an opportunity to address the carvers at large. Part of the usefulness of this forum software is the search function which allows users to access past topics. This will be especially valuable as time goes on and the depth of information increases.

You'll find the search link at the top of all pages with some other links. In reference to your question, I did a search using the key words "tool making" using just the default search options.

What came up is a thread called "Making scrapers". This was a very informational thread containing a lot of info about scrapers, but other tools as well. There is a reference to a brand of small chisels: Dockyard.

By using the search function, we'll avoid redundancy and also foster a certain freshness and specificity to our questions.

I hope I'm not sounding preachy but i do think the search function can add to all our experience with the forum.

One of my email carving friends has recommended these tools by Ramelson Tools: