« un bonjour » from France

jct

Hello from France,

My name is JCT (Jean Claude Thomas), I live in France where I am a farmer.

As many french people, I only speak one foreign language: french !, this is a friend of mine who is translating my little message, please forgive me !

I am coming from the knife making world where I have discovered a wonderful material: Mammoth Ivory !

post-512-1163519247.jpg

In this world I also met a guy full of talent: Greg DELAUNAY who accepted to teach me the Scrimshaw technic.

post-512-1163519399.jpg

post-512-1163519447.jpg

Today I am trying sculpture and I am very shy/nervous to show you my first work (on the thumb of my neighbour !)

post-512-1163519525.jpg

in work on my thumb

post-512-1163519573.jpg

As for the Scrimshaw, Greg kept for himself "young naked women subjects" and he let me with the wild animals, this is less pleasing and more dangerous, well after giving it a second thought this is not so sure......

I have a lot to learn from you and eventhough I am not going to write here too often, you must know that I read your messages very regularly, eventhough I prefer the pictures.

I also would like to thank all the persons who have dragged me into this path :

Sergey Osipov and his poetic netsuke, Natasha Popova and her incredible talent, Cornel Schneider and his lezards, Tom Sterling and his magic ebook and of course Greg, my master 90 ( it’s a French joke)

Please carry on, your talent is needed....

Jct

Mammoth is the most wonderfull god creature after women and cows ......

• 4 weeks later...

Salut jct, comme on se retrouve, i hope that you show us more of your work, see you later.

Resalut jct, est-ce que tu peux m'expliquer comment tu fais pour joindre des photos?. I ask jct how he does to join photos with the text, because i have not a gift with internet.

• 4 weeks later...

Bonjour Jean-Claude,

Cela fait plaisir de trouver quelques Français sur ce forum. Nous ne sommes pas si nombreux !