Wood Hardness

Daniel

I've just starting carving, but the wood I'm using is so hard. I'm using an 18mm chisel and I'm basically just scraping away saw-dust and tiny shavings. It's hard to take away a larger amount of wood than just tiny shavings or saw-dust, so it's taking ages, even after sharpening my chisel, and I'm cutting along the grain.

I cut the wood from a big tree branch I found lying over by the river. Then from that piece I cut a small 2x2inch section for my practice. I don't know how long the branch was lying out there for, but should age and death have anything to do with how difficult it is to cut? Is there any kind of 'norm' for how hard wood should be for carving?

I'm a beginner, so I lack any kind of perspective on difficulty when cutting. I'd like to know if this is typical or if I've just chosen the wrong kind of wood. Also, I have no clue what type of wood it is, and no pictures (sorry).

Cheers!

Hi Daniel,

Are you using the right tool for the job? If you are just trying to rough out the waste wood, using a 3/4" (1.8 cm or 18 mm) tool on a 2x2" piece of wood is likely not the right tool for the job, in my opinion. Many carvers use a micro grinder, (low cost, less quality? Dremel, higher cost better quality Foredom or NSK, or other varieties) to remove the waste wood, to get nearer the surface where the subject will be. We all have favorite files, of various bite and shape to continue defining the form. When near the final surface, then it is time to use the carving tools. That is when you get to figure out whether to use a flat chisel, a gouge shape, a skewed chisel, knife or scrapers of various straight and rounded edges.

One very important piece of advice is to keep the tools sharp, and another is to cut always away from your flesh! A tip with a power tool, I use gloves, since the bit may catch and travel over the wood, fingernails and skin at a very fast speed, leaving behind a trail of ragged, um....