Un bonjour from Quebec

Antoine M.

Hi everyone!

Glad to join you on this exellent forum!

My name is Antoine Marçal and i'm a knifemaker from Quebec (Canada!). I'm actually just an emissary for my girfriend Sabrina Rhéaume who started small bas-relief sculptures and unfortunately does not write english...

So I'll be translating for her:

Hello, I'm an audidacte artist from Québec. I have painted for a few years and lately I decided to try and tranfer my paintings into bas- relief...

The picture is my third sculpture, so please any constructive comments are more than welcome.

I make the initial outline with a dremel, then a home made scraping tool and then small file and lots and lots of sand paper :D ...This one is bloodwood and I realised is a difficult wood to work with, it checks quite a bit...

post-832-1168565550.jpg

Thank you all!

Sabrina

Here is my web site for more and different work: http://sabrinarheaume.canalblog.com/

Welcome to The Carving Path Forum Antoine and Sabrina! Thank you for introducing yourselves. Antoine also has a web site, I hope that he will share the url with us.

The grain of the bloodwood begins to give the piece an appearance of aged wood. The color is quite rich. Did you use a finish on the wood?

If you are welcoming a constructive comment, I have one. The design appears to have both foreground and background, or positive and negative shapes. These elements compete for attention in this piece, being similar in color and roundly carved. My senses want to see the background recede, by carving some away, and to flatten it. The background might work with a subtle texture that is similar to the grain direction, or simply add a slight darkening color that would give each element, foreground or background, some contrast. That would give the foreground importance, and give the background it's own shape and help it to recede.