Japanese Urushi/lacquer site

Guest ford hallam

• 11 months later...

Hello everyone who makes maki-e and other thechniques using Urushi! I have so great wish to do a couple of Manju lacquered netsuke. Having some different Urushi lacquers, some tools and the Inro handbook, I try to understand this process. I've no allergy, probably I can rub myself absolutely and feel nothing! I've made the drying cabinet, the temperature can be plus 22-31 Celsium derees, I put a cup of water inside, but there is a puzzle for me, sometimes it dries in a day, but sometimes it take more than a week. Can anybody give me some advice if it is not commercial secret about such things as normal time of drying, temperature, wetness, thickness of a layer, how must look Sabi-Urushi and probably many more? :D

Hi Samuel, thank You! There is another problem, I'm a beginner! :D The quality and age of Urushi lacquers are perfect, I've bought them on January this year from Watanabe Syoten, all lacquers are Japanese, Kijiro, Kijomi, Nashiji and Ikkaki. I've read many sites and articles in the Internet, but everywhere is not any information about consistence and more or less right proportions of such things as Sabi-Urushi, I don't know how much water should I add at this mixture, how much must be whet stone dust or something else. I understand that it can be a secret, every artist has own proportions. I'm afraid that I can add more water or powder in lacquer, or I can put too thick layer. I can control temperature, but I don't know anything about thickness of Sabi-Urushi and its consistence. I covered the first layer of Ki-urushi on wooden surface, I did it on 4 pieces at once, I noticed that the thinnest layer was dried in a day, the thickest layer was drying for a week. The next step was Sabi-Urushi, the layer was very think, the surface of SabiUrushi looked dried in a day, I waited two more days and began to polish it with some water and whet stone #600, but the layer of Sabi-Urushi became very