ART NOUVEAU PEN

Hi Folks,

Thought I'd post some pictures of my latest fountain pen. This one is a collaboration between myself and Ray Cover. We wanted to do something with Art Nouveau elements, and Ray wanted to work in the style of Alphonse Mucha. The blue marbled celluloid was chosen to resemble art glass of that period. I studied some of the balcony railings from Belgain buildings for the carved titanium clip, cap band and cap top. Ray took a Mucha illustration and gave the lady a more contemporary look while still keeping the circular devise behind her. He made that into the back of her chair. He engraved the back in a similar fashion to my clip.

Hopefully the pictures will show the details. They were set up as low resolution shots for posting, and by the time they got from my wife's computer to mine, they became even lower!

Thanks for looking.

David

post-322-1175608631.jpg

post-322-1175608665.jpg

post-322-1175608682.jpg

Thanks, Janel. Ray and I have collaborated on many pen projects and a few knives, too.

Karl, Ray made a large drawing of his subject, then reduced the scale to fit the part. This was engraved into the titanium barrel sleeve with various engraving tools. The yellow is fine gold inlay, and the red/brown is copper inlay. The inlays are taken down flush with the titanium, then details engraved into them. The texturing on some of the copper her hair are examples of these details. To make it all show up the engraving is "inked". Actually, Ray uses paint. The textured background on the back side was not inked.