My First Gold Inlay

As synchronicity would have it, soon after becoming fascinated with this concept of inlaying metals into one another, I got a comission for a ring that seemed perfect for inlay. The couple have two daughters, one named after the clouds or mists of Hawaii and the other after a vining plant(Maile) native to those islands. They wanted these forms worked into the ring and using some of their own stones. Here's the results of my work. I was lucky the client wanted a textured background as the curved surface was a challenge. I confess that I cheated a bit by having to add a touch of gold solder where the stems meet the upper leaves - I could have omitted that but I had to do the two inlays in 2 pieces to allow for the expansion of the inlay material due to the smaller radius of the routed channels ( there's probably a way to calculate this but I'm just learning)- when I fitted the upper leaf sections in, I was afraid I might end up with a gap so I soldered the joint. All in all I'm very pleased and want to try this some more - it's cool how effective the mechanical joining is. :rolleyes: The white gold is 14 kt. and the yellow is 18 kt.

Magnus

post-239-1177403685.jpg

post-239-1177403766.jpg

post-239-1177403808.jpg

post-239-1177403841.jpg

Guest ford hallam

Hi Magnus,

that's great to see, :) the contrast between the textured ground and the gold leaves is really clear. It possibly took a little longer than simply soldering it on but it's no doubt much cleaner as a result.

cheers, Ford :rolleyes:

Very nice, Magnus! When I consider how small such a ring has to be, that the leaves are on a pretty narrow and highly curved surface, the cutting of the channels and the tiny inlay pieces, waling away with a dinky hammer and punches, my miniature mind boggles...